How Many Of The Five Stages Of Sleep Are Considered Nrem Sleep?

The Five Stages of Sleep: Understanding NREM Sleep

Sleep is an essential function that allows our bodies and minds to recharge, leaving us refreshed and alert when we wake up. Healthy sleep also helps the body remain healthy and stave off diseases. Without enough sleep, the brain cannot function properly. Of the five stages of sleep, four are part of non-rapid eye movement (NREM) sleep, while the last one is known as rapid eye movement (REM) sleep.

NREM Sleep: The Foundation of Restorative Sleep

NREM sleep consists of the first four stages of the sleep cycle. These stages are characterized by a progression from light sleep during Stage 1 to a very deep sleep in Stage 4. It is during these stages that the body undergoes most of its repair and renewal processes.

Stage 1 of NREM Sleep

Stage 1 of NREM sleep, also known as N1, is the transition phase from wakefulness to sleep. This stage typically lasts for several minutes, and during this time, the body begins to relax. One can experience sudden muscle contractions called hypnic myoclonia, often felt as a sensation of falling. This stage is the lightest form of sleep and is easy to wake from.

Stage 2 of NREM Sleep

Stage 2, or N2, is when you are in a state of light sleep. Your heartbeat and breathing slow, and your muscles relax even further. Your body’s temperature drops and eye movements stop. Brain wave activity slows but is marked by brief bursts of electrical activity known as sleep spindles. Stage 2 sleep lasts for approximately 20 minutes and acts as a buffer to the deeper sleep stages.

Stage 3 of NREM Sleep

Stage 3, previously combined with Stage 4 and known as N3 or delta sleep, is the beginning of deep sleep. It is harder to be awakened in this stage, and if one is awakened, they often feel disoriented for a few minutes. In this stage, the body starts repairing and regenerating tissues, building bone and muscle, and appears to strengthen the immune system. Delta waves are predominantly seen on an EEG, and this stage is crucial for restorative sleep.

Stage 4 of NREM Sleep

Stage 4 of NREM sleep is the second part of deep sleep and continues the body’s restorative processes. It’s extremely difficult to wake someone from this stage. Sleep disorders like sleepwalking and night terrors occur during the deepest stage of NREM sleep.

REM Sleep: The Dreaming Stage

Following NREM sleep, Stage 5 of the sleep cycle is REM sleep. Typically occurring about 90 minutes after falling asleep, it lasts for around 10 minutes the first cycle and lengthens with each cycle throughout the night. REM sleep is characterized by increased brain activity, accelerated respiration, heart rate and blood pressure, eye movement, and paralysis of the voluntary muscles. It’s during this stage that most dreaming occurs.

The Importance of NREM Sleep

NREM sleep is important for both physical and mental restoration. The body conserves energy, reduces blood pressure, and decreases body temperature. Growth hormone is secreted during NREM sleep, which is essential for growth and development, as well as muscle repair and protein synthesis. Memory consolidation also takes place during NREM sleep, particularly during Stage 2, where the information and experiences from the day are processed and stored.

Moreover, during deep NREM sleep (Stages 3 and 4), the glymphatic system, which is responsible for clearing waste from the brain, becomes highly active. This cleansing process is vital for maintaining brain health and preventing neurodegenerative diseases.

The Sleep Cycle and NREM Sleep’s Role

The sleep cycle typically follows a predictable pattern, starting with Stage 1 and moving through to REM sleep before starting over again. A complete sleep cycle lasts around 90 to 110 minutes, with each stage playing a complementary role.

Stages 1 through 4 of NREM sleep set the stage for REM sleep, during which the experiences and information of the day have processed. NREM sleep helps in physically restoring the body, while REM sleep is crucial for cognitive functions such as memory and learning. Both components of sleep are vital, and disruptions in either can have adverse effects on health.

Finishing Thoughts

Understanding the stages of sleep is crucial for acknowledging the importance of a good night’s rest. Every stage has its unique benefits, with NREM sleep occupying four-fifths of the sleep cycle, highlighting its essential role in our overall well-being. Good sleep quality and adequate duration are significant factors for physical and mental health. Ensuring we go through proper cycles of NREM and REM sleep is key to feeling our best and achieving optimal health. To support these sleep stages, maintaining regular sleep routines, a comfortable sleep environment, and a healthy lifestyle are paramount. Sweet dreams and restful slumber are not just luxuries; they are fundamental pillars of a healthy life.


  • Leo Murray

    Hey, I'm Leo Murray, your friendly guide to the galaxy of great sleep at GoodlSleepHub. As a certified Sleep Therapist with a lively spirit for all things restful, I'm here to take the mystery out of your zzz's. My mission is to make good sleep accessible to everyone, mixing solid science with a dash of humor. When not demystifying sleep cycles or hunting down the best mattresses, I'm an avid mountain biker and a coffee connoisseur. My weekends often involve exploring new trails or experimenting with coffee blends. These adventures fuel my philosophy: great days are born from great nights. So, come along as we journey through the night skies of sleep. I promise to keep it informative, light-hearted, and always focused on getting you the restful sleep you deserve. Remember, in Leo's world, every night is an opportunity for a perfect dream!

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply

Good Sleep Hub